The lost art of…PLAYING


Play.  The dictionary defines it as n. “exercise or activity for amusement or recreation” or v. “to do something in sport not to be taken seriously. To amuse oneself. To take part or engage in a game”…Simple right?  Then why don’t we do more of it? Do we even know how anymore? It seems to me that play has become something kids do, mostly on electronic devices, and usually away from adult activities. But why? OHHH here we go: the list of a thousand ‘reasons’ why we can’t play.  “I don’t have time.  I don’t know how. I’m an ADULT.”   One of my favorite quotes is “We don’t stop playing because we grow old. We grow old because we stop playing.”  Truth.

So about this time issue: I have four children, ages 4, 9, 11, and 12. They are involved in clubs and sports. I own and operate a very busy commercial cleaning business. I attend nursing school full time (12 credit hrs per semester).  I TOTALLY get it that we can’t just drop our responsibilities and just go out and run around like fools. There’s a time and place for all things. Just like everything else, schedule a few times a week to unplug-set down that cell phone or laptop, turn off the t.v. I’m not trying to be all “holy” here…I have an iPhone that I use to check my blog, Facebook, and Twitter waaaay too often.  However, I do not watch TV. It wasn’t always that way, I had shows that I liked, but I found that the time I wanted to hang out with the kids or get stuff done was being mindlessly wasted while sitting on the couch munching on God only knows what. When I made the decision to get healthy, that was just about the only thing I could see cutting out in order to reclaim my life. Work? Nope, gotta pay those darn bills. School? Well, I could, but that would be the opposite of reclaiming my WHOLE health. Sleep? UM, NO. If you know me at all, this is a BAD idea. No sleep makes momma impossible to be around. Plus, it breaks the Paleo rule of getting enough quality sleep 🙂 Working out? I did cut that down a bit…I am lifting more heavily and doing at-home body weight exercises so I don’t have to spend a whole lot of time gymming. But eliminating it all together would be a major seback to the goal of longevity, balance, strength and health.  My children need me to be able to be present while looking over their homework, talking to them about their day, etc. Doing that over a blaring TV lessens the value of conversations in a big way. You have to find little places here and there where you could fit it in, but I’ll bet if you look hard at your whole week, you’ll find it. IT IS OF LIFE SAVING IMPORTANCE. In all the super-person madness we encounter every day, we NEED playtime more than ever. Once you try it, you’ll be hooked. Pinky promise 😉

 How?? How do I play?? I haven’t done that since….I don’t even remember! Well..grab your kids, dogs, spouse, or anyone in the general vicinity who won’t call the police, and do something fun.  Fun in the healthy life is no longer hanging out at your local watering hole….Go to the park and climb the monkey bars and swing and play tag in the sunshine. Go skating,  for a bike ride, or stand up in the middle of your living room, turn up the radio and have an impromptu dance party. Just today when I left class, it was POURING. Not raining. Monsoon rain, wind, RAINING. I watched as people huddled under the overhangs “waiting it out”, texting and calling for someone to come pick them up. I wrapped my phone in my sweater, threw it in my bag, took off my shoes, and jumped through every. single. puddle.  I had a blast!! Little opportunities like that can change your whole perspective on life. Now, dig way back in your past and recall some of the things you did in your childhood which made you smile and make some of those memories. Get a fresh 64-count box of crayons and color on a rainy afternoon or take a snuggle nap. Then, when you’re all outta breath and giggling til you pee yourself, drop me a line and tell me all about it. I can’t wait!   ~Cavemomma

Leave a Reply

