A day in the life of a Cavemomma


Very related to the “I can’t afford to eat healthy” and “I don’t have time to do this” is the “you just don’t understand MY life” excuse. One may be correct in saying I don’t live in their home or deal with their situation, but I have a pretty full existence. I would like to share with you a page from my book, if you’re interested.

Monday morning, 5:30 am. My very calming, gentle alarm rouses me from dream state. Then, my husband’s alarm puts the local lightning alert system to shame. Ok, let’s go.  Off to the kitchen, pour two cups of black coffee (which I pre-set the night before), and begin the lunch-making process. Turkey wraps made with nitrate free no-filler Boars Head turkey, shredded carrots, and hard cheese. Tupperware containers full of grapes, celery with almond butter, an apple, or whatever other Paleo-friendly treasures my children have picked out the previous evening. A water bottle in the side pockets, and 4 lunches are ready to go. Then, I pack the big people cooler full of pre-made chicken salad, organic romaine lettuce leaves, tons of water bottles, some apples and 2 large salads and olive oil on the side. Time for the herd to rise.

5:45 am: I drop off David’s coffee and gently remind him it’s time to rock and roll, which is met with “but I’m sleeeepy!” Yeah, me too kiddo. By the time I get to the girls’ room, my oldest daughter is already dressed and in the kitchen helping make breakfast. I dress the 4 year old before she wakes up to avoid a wardrobe conflict and remind the 8 year old to make her bed. As I walk into my son’s room, he grunts “yeah, mom, I’m up”. “Looks like it” I reply (this is an every morning ritual.) I throw the eggs on the table and remind the kids to rinse the dishes when they’re done and double check their rooms to make sure the beds are made and rooms are clear of dirty jammies and such.

6:00 am: I pour the remaining coffee into the to-go thermos and head toward the shower, which is currently taken by the sleepyhead. Good thing he makes the bed every morning. So, I run in and start a load of laundry and put away the clean dishes from the dishwasher and throw a roast, baby carrots, and onions in the crockpot . Gotta fly through my shower so we can be out the door by 6:40. 

I drop the 3 big kids off at their dad’s house where they’ll wait for the bus, then the little one across the street at her daycare. Off to clean our first couple retail stores before they open, usually 2 before 8:30. Then we run off to a construction project or our residential regulars, depending on the day. This usually includes 2-4 houses, ranging in size from 1500-5500 square feet. We work scrubbing, dusting, cleaning windows, pressure washing, and mopping all day til 3 or 5, grabbing bits of this and that out of the cooler for lunch and snacks between jobs. It’s HOT here in South Florida, so we drink gallons of water throughout the day. When we’re all finished and completely sweaty and gross, we run around collecting the kids and head home for dinner – right after we stop at Target because “I have a project for geography..due TOMORROW”. Awesome. We’re still working on that planning thing.

 Lunch boxes collected on the counter, everyone grabs a plate and we sit down for 20-30 minutes for dinner. (Unless, of course, I have class, then I grab a handful of whatever, maybe get a quick shower,  and run out the door yelling instructions they’ve already heard a million times.) After dinner, the table is cleared, leftovers stored, kitchen cleaned, dishwasher started, coffee pre-made, and lunches set up for tomorrow. The three older kiddos get their showers and set out their uniforms for the next day and I bathe the 4-year-old. Tonight, all three girls need their hair braided for tomorrow. Oh, wait, no, the 8-year-old wants a blow dry and straighten, the other two want braids. Oh, and can you paint my nails, mommy? Of course. Right after I switch the laundry. Hey Zac, dryer’s done. Fold it and put it away 🙂 KaLynn, while I dry Alyssa’s hair, I need you to run the vacuum around the table and get whatever that is on your bedroom floor while you’re at it.  At around 8pm, I read the littlest ones a book, the rooms are cleaned up, and we get ready for bed. This is where I’ll get to the gym some nights, for about 45 minutes.  Lights out for the littles at 9:15.  Then I sit down to check my email, Facebook, and blog before catching up our business and personal books, send invoices and estimates, and reconcile accounts. David is busy checking on our stocks, making sure the fluids in the cars and work van are good, doing our business scheduling, returning business calls and emails, and if I’m at school, doing everything else. Thank God for him.

Now, there are days that vary. Some days, we start by 6 am and are finished by 1, giving me time to do the books and get a workout in there before getting the kids. Some days, there is no working out at all, because I have class, Zac has hockey, the girls have gymnastics, there’s a band concert, or I have to study for an exam, But there is very rarely a day we don’t eat to fuel our bodies correctly. Could you imagine keeping up with 6 people if I weren’t properly fueled? I have tried it, and I don’t recommend it.  We try to be in bed by 10 most nights, because I recognize the value of sleep. Trust me, NO ONE wants to deal with me if I have fewer than 7 hours. Our room is completely dark and cool, and we rest well. This is vital to a healthy life. I repeat: VITAL.

So, what’s my point? My point is, I have 4 kids. I own a business, go to school, have kids in extracurricular activities, work out, and still manage to feed my family 95% Paleo nutrition. I see my family as a REASON, instead of an excuse. I do not watch TV, because I feel it’s a mindless waste of precious time. I like to spend time with my family at the dinner table, on the weekends at the pool or park, or the beach.

So, That’s a day in the life. In my next post, I’ll talk about how I prepare for the week ahead of time, making this whole process a little easier. Thanks for stopping by. I encourage you to subscribe, comment, and keep me on my toes. ~Cavemomma

10 thoughts on “A day in the life of a Cavemomma

  1. I love it!! Sounds like we share a similar house! The reason we can maintain these full lives is because of the choices we make!! Great work!

  2. Wow! I am exhausted after just READING about your day!! I enjoy reading things like this because sometimes the Paleo world gets overrun by young guys and crossfit (not that there is anything wrong with EITHER of those things!!) and it is nice to hear a real, working mom’s story.

  3. CaveMomma that is a great post! and I agree that your family should be a reason not an excuse 🙂 Unfortunately my children are older 12 and 15 and I am finding it very hard to keep unhealthy carbs and sugar out of their diets with the various things they attend and get fed at…got any tips? Is it too late to teach my dogs new tricks? 🙂

  4. From one CaveMomma to another……awesome post!! I love reading your posts! What a great example you are setting for your family and others.

Leave a Reply

