Grab a SNACK!


Every Sunday, I prepare some food ahead of time for the week, while I’m waiting for the laundry to finish. The kids love to help plan what kinds of things we’ll eat for the week, then help me grocery shop and help in the kitchen – it’s our Sunday family tradition, and it really only takes about 2-3 hours. We usually do this in the evening, so we can hang out together at the beach or pool while the sun is still shining 🙂 I cook 6 chicken breasts in the oven, boil some eggs, and wash and cut veggies. easy!!

I DON’T KEEP JUNK FOOD IN MY HOUSE FOR ONE REASON: I’LL EAT IT.  I know my hot buttons, so I choose to keep them away from me! I am a “grazer”, and I’m always on the go, so I need some already ready snacks lying around so I can just grab em and not have to worry about what’s going to be available later.  Here are some of my favorites (because they’re easy.) Do you have healthy go-to snacks? PLEASE post in comments!!

  • Apples and Almond butter: Cut up a couple (organic) apples into slices, put 2 tbsp almond butter on a plate, dip and eat 🙂 This is an awesome 8 pm munchies quencher with a cup of chamomile!
  • Hard boiled and devilled eggs.  One of the first things I do during Sunday prep is throw some (cage-free, organic) eggs in a pan and boil them for 12 min. I rinse them and put them in a ziplock container, then when I’m ready, peel n eat. OR if I’m feeling spunky..I’ll cut the eggs lengthwise, put all the yolks in a bowl, and whip it up with smashed avocado, garlic, and dill, then spoon it into the holes in the eggs.
  • Cut up all my veggies and put them into ziplock containers, and stack them in the fridge. Easy to grab and snack, AND, when I am ready to make a quick salad for lunch, I just take out the containers (including the one with cooked, cut up chicken) and make a salad in 5 min flat.
  • Organic, raw almonds – I ALWAYS have a baggie full of these in my purse in case of a hunger emergency. This saves money (I don’t stop and grab junk food) and my tummy! Almonds keep you full for a long time!
One thought on “Grab a SNACK!

Leave a Reply

